Pin on Pinterest
Image courtesy of RISD.

The City of Richardson and the Excellence in Education Foundation, Inc., announce the 4th Annual Spirit Run at Galatyn Park, Saturday, Nov. 9. This unique race features drum lines, cheerleaders, and bands from each of the four Richardson ISD high schools entertaining and cheering runners along the course. 

At the end of the race, participants can vote for the school that showed the most spirit during the event. The winning school will receive the coveted Spirit Trophy, which is currently held by Richardson High School.

Richardson Mayor Laura Maczka will lead the runners during the race, while Council Member Mark Solomon will serve as chairman.

“I am delighted to chair this outstanding race made up of students, teachers, administrators, City Council, the Honorable Mayor and community members,” Solomon said. “It is a chance to share and recognize the three mayors of the cities that RISD resides within, Richardson, Garland, and Dallas, all of whom serve as Honorary Chairs of the event, and support the Excellence in Education Foundation and our superior Richardson Schools.”

Named the "Loudest and Proudest 5K on Earth," the Spirit Run benefits the students, teachers and the RISD Excellence in Education Foundation, which supports students through scholarships and programs. Officials with the foundation expect more than 600 participants for this year’s event.

“This is a signature event for the foundation and a celebration of the importance of education in our community,” Elizabeth Hart, RISD Excellence in Education Foundation president & CEO, said. “We pay tribute to all of our outstanding sponsors, most especially the City of Richardson, and donors who make this race possible and the wonderful spirit of community that the race engenders. We’re especially excited to have Mark serve as chair of the race this year, and we are thrilled to have our three area mayors and/or representatives serve as Honorary Chairs.”

Awards will be presented after the race for the top overall finishers and age group winners. The school with the most votes will get to take the Spirit Trophy back to campus until next year’s event.

To learn more about the Spirit Run and to participate in the race, click here.

Information courtesy of Greg Sowell