Faith Townsend – Guest Contributor
Jul 3 @ 2:32 pm
RSO Season Finale: Sibelius & Tchaikovsky



Central Standard Time



Eisemann Center for Performing Arts
2351 Performance Drive
Richardson, Texas 75082

Pin on Pinterest
RSO_2024-2025 T_S Banner_Social_1080x1080_No Logo.

SIBELIUS: Violin Concerto in D minor, Op. 47
              Geneva Lewis, violinist
TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 4 in F minor, Op. 36


Join us for a transcendent evening as we unravel the mysteries and marvels within Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4 in F minor, Op. 36, and Jean Sibelius’s mesmerizing Violin Concerto in D minor, Op. 47. 

Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4 is a musical rollercoaster, overflowing with raw emotion and dynamic contrasts. Listen for the bold brass fanfare that heralds the symphony’s opening, a motif that will echo throughout the work, representing fate’s unstoppable grip on the composer’s life. As the symphony unfolds, immerse yourself in the lush strings, soaring melodies, and thunderous climaxes that characterize Tchaikovsky’s unmistakable compositional style. Pay close attention to the intricate interplay between sections of the orchestra, as themes are passed from one instrument to another with breathtaking precision. Let yourself be carried away by the symphony’s dramatic narrative, from moments of introspection to exultant triumph. 

In Sibelius’s Violin Concerto, prepare to be transfixed by the sheer virtuosity and emotional depth of the soloist’s performance. Listen for the hauntingly beautiful main theme, introduced by the violin in the concerto’s opening bars, and marvel as it evolves and transforms throughout the work. Notice the delicate interplay between soloist and orchestra, as they engage in a musical dialogue that is at once tender and fierce. Pay attention to the violin’s breathtaking cadenzas, moments of improvisatory brilliance that showcase the soloist’s technical prowess and musicality. And don’t miss the concerto’s thrilling finale, a whirlwind of energy and excitement that will leave you breathless. 

Get your tickets at