The Richardson Symphony Presents Copland & Brahms



Central Standard Time



Eisemann Center for Performing Arts
2351 Performance Drive
Richardson, Texas 75082

Pin on Pinterest
RSO_2024-2025 C_B Banner_Social_1080x1080_No Logo.

COPLAND: Appalachian Spring 
KODÁLY: Galánti táncok (Dances of Galánta) 
BRAHMS: Double Concerto for Violin & Cello in A minor, Op. 102 
               Chloé Kiffer, violin 
               Horacio Contreras, cello


Dive into the majestic world of Aaron Copland’s iconic Appalachian Spring Suite, a collection of movements compiled from the ballet under the same name, this orchestral gem captures the essence of the American landscape with its lush melodies and evocative harmonies. The orchestral suite is cast in eight uninterrupted sections, opening with a slowly blooming introduction before the unison strings burst into an elated Allegro, setting the stage for a journey through the sprawling wilderness of the Appalachian Mountains. Featuring a set of variations on the beloved Shaker tune “Simple Gifts,” the suite takes you on a captivating musical adventure, where every note paints a vivid picture of nature’s beauty and tranquility. 

Feel the pulse of Hungarian folk music come alive with Zoltán Kodály’s Galánti táncok (Dances of Galánta), a vibrant and spirited composition that showcases the rich heritage of Eastern European melodies. From lively dances to soulful tunes, Kodály’s work invites you to revel in the infectious rhythms and colorful orchestrations, while simultaneously transporting you to a world overflowing with joy and celebration. 

Step into the realm of romanticism with Johannes Brahms’s Double Concerto for Violin & Cello in A minor, Op. 102, featuring the amazing artistry of Chloé Kiffer on violin and Horacio Contreras on cello. Brahms’s masterpiece unfolds with sublime melodies and poignant harmonies, as the violin and cello engage in a captivating dialogue, weaving together themes of passion, longing, and introspection. Experience the beauty and depth of this concerto as it unfolds before you, leaving you enraptured with its emotional intensity and musical brilliance. 

Get tickets at